top of page
  • babiesbusinessandbubbly

Michelstadt Ostermarkt 2022

Updated: Apr 5, 2022


Today and tomorrow the darling little village of Michelstadt is having their Ostermarkt. I drove down and was pleasantly surprised. Michelstadt in itself if beautiful, and the Ostermarkt was a nice surprise. Now that being said I have only ever been to the Kaiserslautern Ostermarkt so my frame of reference is not extensive, but I could easily have dropped several hundred euros today.


The Osstermarkt opened at 12 and I arrived at 11 so I walked into the Altstadt. We went their at Christmas when the Weihnachtsmarkt filled every inch of the old town. Today it was nice to just freely stroll the streets enjoying the flowers and warm sunshine. All of the businesses were open, there were a few vender stands, and even a Riesenrad. Easter decorations adorned each little well and flowers bloomed from every direction. It was beautiful. The restaurants all had outside seating bursting with customers and although the streets were busy, it wasn't uncomfortably packed with people.



Personally I think Michelstadt is a great day trip anytime, but the Ostermarkt was definitely my perk in going today. The market, from what I read on the website, had around 50 vendors. There is food and an inside seating area for food consumption. I did not buy food so I'm not sure about the food area COVID restrictions, but the entrance said 3G and I wasn't asked for my COVID pass or test. The entrance fee is €3 per person. According to the website children under 14 are free. I don't know this personally as after one Easter market my tween is now avidly against them, so today's entrance fee was only for one.



Contrary to what I thought, the Ostermarkt is not in the altstadt as is the Weihnachtsmarkt, it is at the Michelstädter Wochenmarkt. The market building is right next to the Altstadt and ALDI Süd parking lot. This large and easy parking lot has plenty of room for buses so our large American cars have no issue. The ALDI address is Marktstraße 5.


After my ridiculous obsession with Christmas mugs this year I've been trying to be sparing of my Easter egg purchases so I only picked up three today. Two for my children, both plastic thankfully after an unfortunate accident with one we picked up at the Kaiserslautern Ostermarkt. The other was a special egg for me. There were many I wanted, but I couldn't stop myself from indulging on this beautiful creation. The woman who made them was incredibly sweet and explained the process she undertakes to create these works of art. Unfortunately my German is such I only understood half, but her work speaks for itself.



If you're looking for something to do tomorrow and don't mind the hour drive, it's a wonderful way to spend the day. The Ostermarkt didn't take long to peruse. Had my kids been with me I would have sent them and my husband for Eis and completed my shopping in plenty of time. The Ostermarkt doesn't have just eggs either. There are spring and Easter themed wooden decor, metal decor, and home docor. Plenty to see and do for everyone in Michelstadt.

80 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page